


It's Thursday, where did the time go? Well, Michael and I had a fabulous day on Tuesday being all alone at the villa. We got up at around 9:00am, went for a walk down to the closest village, which is approximately 3 miles away. We sat at a little bakery, grocery store, bar (yes, all in one place). Had a cup of capuccino and a pastry then proceeded back to our villa up the mountain top. The walk was anything but fun, there is no side of the road, it is road then ditch. So, when a car comes through, we are running in the ditch because they drive so fast and don't care what is in front of them. We then took our long walk up the driveway which every morning we complain on how hard it is.
We then took a shower, built a fire, because it was cold on Tuesday, and read a book, took a nap and then a little walk with the dog, Molly, who lives here. She is a black and white long hair sheep dog. She led us through a little path through the woods and up further in the mountains. It was actually really nice to go for a nice walk through the mountain woods. We had no idea where we were going, but she led us up the mountain, then down again. By the time we got back, Gail, Gary, Frank and Patti returned from their day in Sienna and we popped open some wine and sat around the fire and laughed and talked.
As the wine flowed, we started talking about the "bidets", which are located in all our rooms, plus have been present at our hotels this entire trip. Needless to say, we all decided to admit that none of us know exactly why it exists? Obviously, we know what it is intended for, but why not just sit in a bath full of water? We also all admitted that none of us have truly used the bidet so what did we do? All of us, with a glass of wine in our hand, went to each of our bathrooms to see just how they work.......Here are our questions that we are putting out there.....If someone knows the answers, it would be great to hear them. Why is there a drain plug? Is it so you can soak? If so, then again, why not use the bathtub? In these particular bidets, the water spout goes down, why? If it is meant to clean the privates, shouldn't it go up? There is a little towel bar with a towel and a soap dish next to it with soap on so we assume that it is to clean up? Again, why not a bathtub?......We sat in the bathroom for approximately 20 minutes laughing histarically but none of us would demonstrate the usage of it. We actually got to the point of Michael pulling out his computer to google it.......Needless to say, we got on another subject and these questions were never answered!
It was so fun to sit and laugh and talk and be with good friends who you feel so comfortable with. I never wanted the night to end, but it did.
Wednesday, we ventured out early and went to a castle which is located high upon the mountains. It is a castle that someone still lives in, however, he allows tours of his grounds. It was a great day, Michael and Gary played soldier running around the top of the castle, planning how they would protect it. They truly regressed into their childhood again. We then found a little diner and had a fantastic dinner, drove home through the winding hills and back to the villa.
Today was Michael and Franks birthday. Michael turned 45 and Frank turned 52. We went to Florence again because Patti got her passport stollen so we had to get her a new one, then went to a FANTASTIC restaurant where we had a fabulous lunch and the owner is a 27 year old (hint, hint, Christi, he is real cute.....I have him in our picture which I downloaded, he told me that if you were ever in Italy, we should bring you by....) They brought us a little cake to celebrate our birthdays, and bought us some wine....It was one of the best meals we enjoyed on our trip.
We then came back to the villa where Patti and Gail had a little surprise for Michael and I....They brought a veil and put it on me and gave a nice little toast to Michael and I for celebrating our 25 year anniversary. I of course cried, it was so sweet....I am so lucky to have friends like them, I truly am.
We then brought out the presents for Michael and Frank's birthday.....All I can say is that the picture tells the story. In case you don't know what it is about, it is a apron with the picture of "David" on it.....Something we joked about this whole trip, and so funny how they look in it. I am going to make Michael wear it for Christmas Eve!!!!
The night is winding down, we are sitting now, enjoying our last night at the villa, with a bowl of Pistachio Gillato and good friends sitting by. What a day, what a night. I am going to stop this post and start another one, because this is getting so long and we leave on Saturday and I want to end my Blog with another post.
Chao

No comments:
Post a Comment