Saturday, October 10, 2009

Tuscany







Had our first blip on this trip and that was trying to find our driver once we exited the train from Venice to Florence. After about 45 minutes of looking for someone holding up a sign with the name "Cannella" on, and not being able to find one, we decided to try to call the company by phone. Not an easy thing to do when our cell phones are not working and all the pay phones are in italian and most everyone speaks italian.

Frank finally asked another driver if he could help us and this man spoke some english and truly helped us out. Our driver got her days mixed up and thought she was to pick us up at the train station on Saturday and not Friday. Thank god she was in Florence shopping with her son. So she rushed over to the train station to pick us up, put her kid in the back surrounded by all of our luggage and on our way we went to our villa.

We stopped along the way at a grocery store to pick up some essentials......Wine, cheese, more wine, champagne (for Patti and I), I think we bought some bread to? Don't remember to much today, Patti and I drank our portion of wine and champagne, so back to grocery store we go today!!!!!!!

We finally got to the villa 8 hours after we left Venice with a ton of wine and a little groceries, all of our luggage and an absolutely beautiful view along the way. Our villa sits up high in the mountain regions of Tuscany, near a village call Luccarelli. Our driveway has olive trees and wine fields along both sides. The driveway up here is steep. You think our driveway at home is steep, try driving up this one.

We unpacked, then started to make dinner. Spaghetti!!! What else would you eat in Tuscany? We then built a fire in the fireplace and relaxed and talked. It felt good to get away from the hussle and bussle of the last few days.

It is raining today on and off, so we built another fire and Mike and Frank are reading books and I am showing Patti how to blog. Tonight Gail and Gary arrive, so i think we will just heat up some leftovers and relax again.

I have attached some pictures of our view for you to see. And yes, I have internet here so I will keep posting!

Hope everyone is healthy and safe, we are having a fantastic time and I don't want it to end. Love you and miss everyone!

Chao!

3 comments:

  1. I think I put my P5 out on that walk up the damn tuscany driveway

    ReplyDelete
  2. Seriously you guys, it looks like something fresh out of a movie. I SO can't wait to see your pictures when you get home.

    Mom...your blogging skills are getting better and better!!!

    ...now if only you knew how to use spell check.

    Just kidding ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like you are having a great time! Sooooo wish we were there, too. Much cheaper enjoying Italy through you though. I should have poured myself a glass of vino before embarking on your trip. Can't wait to see you when you get back. Must have dinner when you get back to celebrate your return.
    Cory and Joe

    ReplyDelete